dana1967

Just another WordPress.com site

The meaning of the Romanian word ‘ Dor’, according to four Transylvanian women.

EXCELENT !!! FELICITARI !!!!

The Bucharest Lounge

In most languages and cultures there are words  that are  difficult to translate to other languages.  We get close with a translation, but never precise. This has to do with many things. A word and a concept has history,  feelings and memories. Words also evolve in a social, political and cultural context.

I put the Romanian word ‘ dor ‘ in this category of words. I instantly fell in love with this word, as I first experienced it as something that has to do with a deep, profound  longing. I was thinking of my longing to Romania as a constant ‘dor’. The more I learned about the word, the wider I realized it’s meaning. I don’t know either, perhaps I can never fully understand it ?

I asked four inspirational, Transylvanian women about their conception of the word ‘ dor’. Here is what they say.

Meet :

Alina Zara-Prunean  from Mandra Chic…

Vezi articol original 890 de cuvinte mai mult

Autor: Dana Constantinescu Mediclass

Director Medical/Administrator-Centrul Medical Mediclass

Comentariile nu sunt permise.